The North Carolina Highway Patrol will be launching a “distracted driving” prevention campaign this month to heighten the public’s awareness regarding the dangers associated with texting while driving.
Since Dec. 1, 2009, texting while driving in North Carolina has been illegal. For drivers younger than 18 years old, any use of a cell phone – even a hands-free device – is also illegal. Those issued a driving while texting ticket can face up to $100 in fines for a first-time offense.
Interestingly, studies show that most of the driving while texting tickets that have been issued in North Carolina have been to drivers older than 25 years old. Recent polls show that nearly 40 percent of North Carolina drivers admit to texting while they drive.
This new distracted driving campaign aims to educate the public about the dangers of texting while driving and hopes to reduce the potential for accidents caused by distracted drivers.
For more information, contact the NC personal injury lawyers of Kelly & West.