Call Now ! (910) 893-8183

Personal Injury Professionals For Nearly 40 Years!

Kelly & West News

How Can I Get My Driving Record Points Reduced?

You may think that getting a speeding ticket or violating a traffic law isn’t a big deal, but it is! You receive driver’s license points for violating these laws that are considered a “moving violation.” Your points can add up and result in major consequences for your driving privileges including revocation. Here is how the system works:

Driving Points
The North Carolina DMV keeps track of your traffic violations. Your driving record will accumulate points based on a scale of previous traffic offenses and the severity of your violation. Wondering which offenses rack up your points? You will receive driving record points for the following (but not limited to):

  • Speeding
  • Illegal passing
  • Running red lights
  • Reckless driving
  • Following too closely
  • Any violation that is classified as a “moving violation”

You should consult with an experienced traffic law attorney such as those at Kelly and West before pleading to any traffic violation. The best way to reduce points to begin with.

If you are in the habit of receiving multiple points for traffic violations, you should know that 12 points within a period of 3 years will result in a driver’s license suspension. Also certain combinations of convictions result in suspension even without the 12 point accumulation, i.e., two speeding tickets in excess of 55 mph in one year. An experienced traffic law attorney knows what these combinations are and their effect. Once your license is reinstated, only 8 points are required for another suspension.

How to Reduce Pointsman-driving-car-on-street
Although the system is fairly complicated, there are ways of getting your points reduced. Acquiring 7 points on your record will result in optional defensive driving courses. You can instead take these courses voluntarily before you reach that point. The course completion will remove 3 points but you must have a conference NCDMV hearing officer to see if you qualify.

Take the Correct Course
In North Carolina, there are two different kinds of courses. There is a 4-hour course and an 8-hour course. The amount of hours is dependent on your violation. Check with us, contact the course provider directly, or go to the NCDMV website to make sure you are signed up for the course that is going to be most beneficial to your situation.

What will you learn in these courses?
The general curriculum of defensive driving courses include:

  • Motivation behind effective driving skills
  • Driver improvement training
  • Updated NC traffic laws and point system
  • The latest research about drug impairment and its effect on your driving
  • How to embrace a safer style of commuting

Again, the best way to keep your points down is to get advice before you enter any plea, and Kelly and West can give you that advice. We want to make sure you are making the best decision for your future and driving record.

Subscribe to Our Mailing List

* indicates required
/ ( mm / dd )

    What Our Clients

    Have Said...

    Alexander C. – Harnett County Property Owner

    “Reggie Kelly is a fantastic attorney with fantastic paralegals. My wife and I have been using him and his firm since 1983 when we first purchased property in Harnett County 37 years ago. He offers excellent legal advice and guidance. He never gets in a hurry to get us out the door because of his next appointment. He always takes the time needed to check out all of the issues that might come up. Reggie Kelly is a proud American and he loves our country and he wants everyone to do well. Reggie Kelly is an even finer person than he is a fantastic attorney and we are very fortunate to also be able to call him and his wife Cheryl our friends. We give him a 10 STAR Review!”