Call Now ! (800) 936-3133
Personal Injury Professionals For Over 30 Years!

Free DWI Info Sheet

Kelly & West News

North Carolina DWI Penalties – What You Should Know

Driving while intoxicated (DWI) in North Carolina is a very serious offense with serious punishments. You could face large fines, mandatory jail time, and loss of your driving privileges. If you are a repeat offender, these penalties increase and additional punishments are added such as an ignition interlock device for our car.

Additionally, if there are other aggravating factors attached to the DWI arrest, the penalties can severely increase and jail time often becomes mandatory. There are also has aggravating and mitigating factors the judge may consider when handing out sentencing for a DWI. If you meet two or more of these factors, your fines and punishment can be increased.

A Brief Look At DWI Punishments

First Time Offenders with no other circumstances attached to the arrest:

• $200 fine
• Up to 24 hours in jail
• 1 year license suspension

These fines increase with second and third convictions.

Grossly Aggravating Factors

Any of these issues that can be attached to your DWI arrest will increase your fines and may also require longer periods of mandatory jail time. These factors include:

• Prior DWI conviction in the last 7 years
• Driving with a suspended license from a previous DWI
• Injury or accident occurring due to driving while intoxicated
• Having a person under the age of 16 in the car while driving under the influence

Additional factors:

• Blood alcohol level in excess of 0.15 percent
• Eluding police from being stopped for DWI
• Driving in excess of 30miles over the speed limit
• Illegally passing a school bus
• Having a revoked license

Each of these factors can significantly increase your fines and mandatory jail time. North Carolina law also requires that anyone convicted of a DWI must carry SR 22 car insurance. This type of insurance is in addition to your regular policy and is meant specifically to deal with drinking and driving related incidents. This is a very expensive policy and you will be required to carry it for an extended period of time.

As you can see, being arrested and charged with a DWI in North Carolina is very serious and can have a lasting impact on your life. If you have been charged with a DWI, it is important to seek legal representation from an experienced DWI defense attorney.

    What Our Clients

    Have Said...

    Alexander C. – Harnett County Property Owner

    “Reggie Kelly is a fantastic attorney with fantastic paralegals. My wife and I have been using him and his firm since 1983 when we first purchased property in Harnett County 37 years ago. He offers excellent legal advice and guidance. He never gets in a hurry to get us out the door because of his next appointment. He always takes the time needed to check out all of the issues that might come up. Reggie Kelly is a proud American and he loves our country and he wants everyone to do well. Reggie Kelly is an even finer person than he is a fantastic attorney and we are very fortunate to also be able to call him and his wife Cheryl our friends. We give him a 10 STAR Review!”