When an individual is convicted of a traffic violation in the state of North Carolina, one or more points may be added to his/her driving record and the driver’s insurance may increase by 25 percent or more, according to the NC Department of Motor Vehicles. While receiving 12 points within one year triggers a license suspension of up to 60 days, a second suspension can last up to 6 months, and a third can last up to one year.
At Kelly & West, our highly skilled traffic ticket attorneys are extremely familiar with North Carolina’s traffic laws. We have been aggressively litigating our clients’ rights for nearly three decades. We are dedicated to helping people move through the legal process efficiently.
The following is a list of some traffic offenses and the amount of points each adds to one’s record in the event of a conviction:
• littering from a motor vehicle: 1 point
• failure to stop for a siren: 3
• lack of liability insurance: 3
• failure to stop at a stop sign: 3
• reckless driving: 4
• hit and run involving property damage only: 4
• passing a stopped school bus that is loading or unloading children: 5
For more information about our traffic ticket lawyers, or to schedule a consultation to discuss your unique circumstances, please call our Sampson traffic ticket lawyers today.